Star Trek unihull Starship

Happy New Year. Here’s a ship I’m playing with building. It’s a unihull design that takes place around the 2260’s. The saucer is 60 metres across. Each deck is about 2.5 metres. But the size doesn’t concern me greatly here. I’m just working on the shapes- trying to make it look the way I want.

This is what I have so far, and I expect it to change. The nacelles here are certainly going to change- but they’re not my focus since they will look like tradition TOS nacelles.  The main thing is that it looks like it belongs in that time period (with more detail) 😉

Jan. 10, 2010

Here is the start of the build for this un-named Class ship. I’ve started assembling the componants. The only exception to the image below is the impulse engines- they won’t be mounted there. I just put it on to see what it looked like. This saucer is 128 metres across.

I made a bit of progress this morning. Here’s the aft section to the unihull design. I may add a centre line section, aft to fore, along the underside of the aft hull section. This will add more engineering space and open up some room for a shuttle deck(s). It will also balance out the ship a little when I throw on the warp nacelles. Now with this design will have power plants in each nacelle, as well as power reactors in the main ship hull.

Some more detail. Panels, doors, access hatches, and the forward deflector. I didn’t want to do it, but there was nowhere else to put it. And since ST:Enterprise’s NX class is part of Trek history, I ripped off that design bit. Granted, everything I’ve done is derived from something from Star Trek.

Jan. 12, 2010

Here are the Nacelle struts. From this distance, the grills seem solid. But zoom in, and you get the detail. A coppery grill and raised border.

Jan. 15, 2010

I’ve done some more work on the nacelle componant, and placed them on the ship. There’s more work to come. This build has been the most complex compared to the Federation and Banting Class. It doesn’t look it, but there are many more componants and complex angles and curves. It’s fun!

Jan. 16, 2010

I’ve decided to add a shuttle deck to the underside of Engineering. It doesn’t take away from the profile, and adds plenty of room for shuttles, repair areas, and some extra storage.

Jan. 17, 2010

Jan. 18, 2010

I’ve decided on my ship name. It’s the U.S.S. Saint-Laurent. A Halifax Class Starship. Crew Compliment: 221. More to come…

One Response to “Star Trek unihull Starship”

  1. patrickivan Says:

    The saucer is 128 metres across.

Leave a Reply

