S.S. Enterprise Google Sketchup

Here is my precursor to TOS Enterprise. Well, not mine, but my interpretation of one of the concept proposals for the original Enterprise. I think this works out well as an earlier ship. It’s smaller, at about 100 metres long. The saucer rim in 3 metres thick and 48 metres across. The secondary hull is just over 48 metres and the nacelles are 64.5 metres long and 7.5 metres across… It’s a neat little ship done up in 3D. I think I’ll work on some internal details like the bridge and shuttle deck. The bridge may be similar to JJ”s Kelvin, a bridge I’ve grown to like as an earlier design. Better the ST Enterprise’s NX Class…

I’ve painted the ship with a textured anodized metal colour. I like the colour itself, but the mottled texture may be a little too busy. I don’t want it to look like little tiny panels all over this little ship. I did however like the black deflector housing. It reminds me of the nose of some earlier military aircraft.

The bridge hovering above the sauce will be sunk down into the hull- but in the mean time, that’s where I’m working on it, so that’s where it will stay.

A wee bit more detail. The ribbing on the engineering section may have something to do with fuel storage. And the undersection may be an access door.

A little update- 22nd of Feb. 2010

For a lack of a better idea of where to place the impulse engines, I put it on the neck. I’m just guessing, but it may be closer to the centreline of mass as opposed to up on the saucer…

Ā 

26th of February, 2010

Just a little update tonight. I changed the paint on the ship, and did some work on the bridge. That I haven’t saved here yet…

27th of February, 2010

I’ve decided on the class and name for this ship. I’ve decided to call it a Confederation Class Spaceship. U.S.S. Atlantic. N.C.C.-802. Crew ?; Maximum Speed: Warp Factor 7.76.

Here are her external dimensions, some bridge shots, and the planetary sensor that I’ve modified at the suggestion of a fellow Trek BBS’er. The sensor is made up of a concaved dish, with a concaved rim (rusty coloured part).

There is no TL on the bridge. The door opens up to the main deck in the saucer.

28th of February, 2010

I’ve revamped the bridge based on Pato Guzman’s early Enterprise bridge concept as shown in The Art of Star Trek. It’s a bit of a departure from TOS’s bridge, most notably the large wide viewer that is more indicative of TMP’s and beyond ships. I couldn’t help but notice after I built the raised command section, how much it looks like TMP’s stepped section, and Voyager’s (on a smaller scale of course)…

I’m on the wall about the colour for the console section. Do I make it black, or grey with black panels? I don’t know! Ahhhh!

I still have to make the rear entrance too… Like the prior bridge, it will open up straight into the main level on the saucer.

1st of March, 2010

I hate theses chairs…

3rd of March, 2010

I moved the impulse engine. It was in a neat looking position, but not very practical. There’s no room in there for an impulse set up. So I split it up and placed them on the saucer and the end of the secondary hull…

I also added some graphics! Yay. And some nav lights….

And here’s a little work on the bridge. I’ve added a station, and a persective shot from “another” crewmember. I think this bridge size will work nicely.

4th of March, 2010

I made a bit of headway on the bridge today, and I’ve finally made some chairs that I am content with.

5th of March, 2010

I’ve added a shuttle/supply access door and some windows. Just a few though and they all have shutters.

2nd of May, 2010

I haven’t really done anything in a while, but I’m getting back into it… Here’s a little interior work of the primary command deck. I’ve inserted the bridge and some corridors with power and utilities supply conduits.

The coloured rings are the conduits located both above and below the main corridor.

10th of June, 2010

I spent a couple of hours on the shuttle deck today. It’s about 10 metres deep and 4 metres high. There’s an access door to further shuttle and supplies storage.

There’s a bit of interiour work left… The saucer impulse engines and control room need to be fleshed out. As well as the Engineering section’s impulse guts… And the auxilary impulse engine in the neck.

It doesn’t look like a lot of room from the side, but there’s a lot of space in this ship. Filling it with 180 crew members shouldn’t be difficult. Three shifts, 60 at duty stations, 60 sleeping, and 60 engaging in off duty affairs…

24th of June, 2010

I don’t know why I do stuff like this. I’ve decided to make the guts to the warp nacelles. Each nacelle contains the power source for it’s respective warp drive system. It also shunts power to the rest of the ship. While the actual engines are in each nacelle, it is not a manned area due to the nature of the energy involved. Typically, personnel will only go up there for occassional repairs, otherwise, no one is in there.

I wanted to include some familiar elements from TOS, such as the dilithium housing. Here, I’ve enlarged the reactor significantly. I’ve also decided to make the main power transfer conduit all blue-glowey, a la TMP’s system. Though none of that blue is shown on the exterior of the ship.

28th of June, 2010

Here’s a little more work on the engines. There’s a little more colour then I’d prefer, but it helps make things stand out against other things.

The red pipes coming from the warp field generator is an energy overflow recovery distributer. That will be shunted down to the ship to batteries for further utilization.

You can see that there are two decks within the nacelle. This is to facilitate access to large reactor and other engine support equipment. I still need to add a ladder from the two levels, and an access tube to the nacelle strut.

I also need to add some computer terminals…

It’s funny how large this piece of equipment is… And a Constitution class, double the size of this, would look HUGE next to it!

7th of July, 2010

I decided to change the paint scheme. I like the large panelled look I worked out here. It’s similar to ST:E, without the stupid “aztec” pattern. I wanted to make the lines more faint, but haven’t been able to do so. That said, it’s a small ship, and I worked the size of the panels until they seemed reasonable. One of the problems I have with the stupid aztec patterns is that it suggests thousands of tiny hull plates and this always seemed structurally redicullous to me.

8th of July, 2010

Just a little work on the engine, and a shadowed shot of both the engine and the ship.

…and a little shuttle I made for her. It’s about 2×5 metres. It seats 6 and is about as comfortable as a mini-van. No walking around in them! The shuttle bay is wide enough for a tight 360, and there’s a repair bay and access to storage behind that big grey door in the back.

A rough layout that I should have done a long time ago. But I never intended to do the interior…

37 Responses to “S.S. Enterprise Google Sketchup”

  1. Nick R. Says:

    Looking good.

    When Ancient did a version of this, he went only 2-D. But your 3-D is off to a nice start.

    But more information please. Stats that is.

    • patrickivan Says:

      Nick R. Are you on Trek BBS? What’s your handle there?

      Thanks for the compliment. And to answer your question, I’m posting some information right now šŸ™‚

  2. Nick R. Says:

    Well I signed up for it a long time ago, but no, I am not there. If I was using that account, it would be JNR

    What happened was that I signed up, and it took some time befre they got back to me, and I forgot what I had to say…

    But I do lurk.

    And some where around here is my password et el. It keeps getting burried…

    And I thank you for those specs.

    My problem is an old one with regards to speed – just exactly what did the navigator mean by the time barrier being broken. That is, what exactly is the time barrier? I think it may have something to do with time at warp.

    that is the faster you go, the faster one’s engines burn out. Meaning that long duration travel couldn’t be done fast.

  3. Nick R. Says:

    Looking good. Keep it up.

    • patrickivan Says:

      Thanks- I haven’t really done much this week. Working too many hours, then running errands all over the place.

      Hope to get work done on it this weekend.

  4. John Ritter Says:

    Still looks good, but what goes above the bridge? Also what goes in to the outer ring? The corridor is too wide for the overall design how ever, unless you are going to be moving cargo around…

    • patrickivan Says:

      Thanks… The bulb above the bridge is going to be a giant sensor. When I couldn’t reasonably place the bridge in there, I needed a good reason for it being so large. My conclusion was that the technology simply wasn’t as advanced as future ships, and therefore requires more space.

      The outer ring is going to be sleeping areas. The beds will go along the inclined section of the hull to take advantage of the odd space. The rooms are small simply because they aren’t meant to be anything more then closets to sleep in, freeing up more room for other needs.

      The corridor looks bigger then it is. It’s only 2 metres across. That’s about 6 feet and really isn’t that wide, especially if you’re moving anything around. Though I see your point that even a 2 metre wide corridor takes up a lot of space.

      When I move down to engineering, it will be more open. I’m working on the original concept that the “power pods” are in the nacelles… In otherwords, the engines with all the really dangerous materials are in the nacelles. What’s down in engineering are the power control for the transfer conduits coming down from the nacelles, the engine control room, backup batteries, and utilities controls. There’s a small shuttle bay and storage facility too. It’s going to be more open concept as a space saving idea.

      • John Ritter Says:

        Any thoughts about how large a crew? Mission profile?

        And so on….

        In other words how far are you going to go with your ideas? In other words, Ithink you should do a full write up for her. No hurry though, just start thinking about it.

      • patrickivan Says:

        The crew will be based on the original Enterprise concept that had it at about 200… And since I believe the ship was originally supposed to be half the size of what TOS Enterprise became, this makes sense to me.

        Since she pre-dates the Constitution Class (or Starship Class) from the 2240’s, I need to come up with a time line for her active status. I’m thinking about 20 years due to the rapid technology changes that will make her obsolete.

        For her time, she’ll be their largest starship, representing cutting edge technology (in the spirit of being a predecesor to the Enterprise). Also, the old Romulan-Terran war would have been fresh on Starfleets’ mind during her concept stages, since planning, testing, and building these ships must take a while… Especially the planning, because I firmly believe they would have the technology to construct them at a reasonable rate of say 6 months. Though resources, and politics would limit the number of these large longer range ships, while the smaller ones would be pumped out as needed. So this class may have been in service from say 2210 to 2230 or 2220 to 2240’s… The planning would have started a good 10 to 20 years before, say around 2200. The Romulan conflict is still really fresh there.

        That said, her technology will be that more similar to The Cage. LASER canons and more premative hand PHASERS. Transporters that take longer to transmit people, and eat up lots of power, limiting their use.

        But all of this needs to be streamlined into something more succint. Feel free to make suggestions. This is my ship only in some regards. I’m really trying to take the concept of this ship, and merge it with what we know from TOS, while at the same time giving it some contemporary considerations.

  5. John Ritter Says:

    The real problem is we don’t know what made Duotronics so special. We know it was revolutionary, but what did they have before? This the question.

    It has been suggested, that Duotronics made star ships more automatic such that the crew didn’t have to worry about rountine matters.

    What this says to me, is that earilier star ships had to have crews that were more active, handling more of the ship’s day to day operation, at a more basic level. That is the crews had to be smarter, and more highy trained, in star ship operations.

    But here is the rub. We are talking about ships built roughly 150 years after Zephram Cochrane discovered the Space warp. That means a great deal of refinement has already taken place. But it isn’t as simple as that. One must define something from dialog about the ‘Time Barrier’ being broken. Like what is the ‘Time Barrier’? I think this ship, and others like her, were like diesel electric submarines. Not nuclear subs, but something that had to come up for ‘air’.

    So here is how I see it.

    Star ships of this time period, could go fast, but not for long, because they would ‘burn’ through there current fuel supply, and the faster they would go, they faster it would be used up. At some point, they would get up to speed, maybe for a few minutes, be dropped out of warp, due to fuel exhaustion. Fusion power?

    But let us say that at some point the snorkel was invented. Permiting prolonged travel at warp one, maybe warp two. Not fast. Let us say that the snorkel could permit refueling at warp one, while at warp two, no refueling.

    But remember that one needs to come up for air from time to time!

    More later.

    • patrickivan Says:

      I agree that this ship would be a more hands on affair. Heck, people seemed to be weary of computers running the entire show in TOS, so I’m sure that they wouldn’t be any more trusting 60 years prior.

      I always thought that the time barrier was something more literal. That prior to this “barrier” warp travel had some affects that resulted in significant differences on ship in relation to Earth. Not to the extreme that you’d leave and come back to find your family aged and gone, but some differences none-the-less. So they developed something within warp technology to keep their time in sync with Earth. Time Warp eventually was just called Warp again…

      That said, prolonged travel would have to be limited with these older ships. The Bussards may be able to collect an almost limitless supply of matter while at warp (thanks to the significant space travelled through), but they still need to create or get fuel for their anti-matter. This must be a well planned endeavour in itself. And their engines probably are less efficient, making them require more fuel. Their engines balanced in such a limited fashion would make them slower. Their structural integrity must be a huge factor with how fast and long they can travel at warp in any given time.

      I have a lot to think about for this ship!

      • John Ritter Says:

        Well I have doing some thinking on this today. More towards the future (ST: Voyager(Yes, I know that it wasn’t much good as a show…))

        But I have come to a conclusion about warp drives. And size there of. The larger the warp drive the finely tuned it must be, but the more computer power it takes to do so. That is, warp drives become progressive chaotic, and lose efficency. So looking at your ship, that predates the Enterprise-nil, I see a possibility, that your ship would be ‘quite’ efficent, but unable to penatrate the time barrier – what ever it is.

        What we do know for sure is that ships after ward were much faster.

      • patrickivan Says:

        So your suggestion is that more efficient warp drive systems allow for more efficient transport through said Time Barrier? I like that theory. That way, when the officer from The Cage exclaims that they’ve broken that barrier, it can be interpreted that the barrier had already been “broken into”, yet not fully mastered…

        But I disagree with your suggestion that size has a direct place to play. It may have started that way, but as the technology progessed, warp drive systems evolved. The engines seemed to have become smaller, though that may have been a direct result in part due to the power sources being relocated from the Engine Nacelles, to a central area in the ship proper.

        As for Voyager (that could have been such a good series).

  6. John Ritter Says:

    To sum up. Duotronics must have caused a rather severe change in thinking – other wise it wouldn’t be worth commenting on in series. In other words it was the one design able to run the true killer app for star ships.

    The other thing, is always to remember we don’t know what the time barrier is, like I did above. Pretimebarrier ships are a problem. We don’t know how far they could travel, nor how soon they could get there, but it was much slower.

  7. John Ritter Says:

    The other thing is about transporters. If you go by Geoffery Mandel’s chronlogy, then Man-rated transporters existed in 2100 A. D. So they have by the time of this ship, had time to be fully developed.

    • patrickivan Says:

      That wasn’t even an issue for me. I knew this ship had transporters right from the get-go.

  8. John Ritter Says:

    Now lets build a picture of what was going on, in the Federation just before contact with the Klingons. This ship was intended to replace an older design, and was in the process of doing so, when contact was made.

    But lets back up a little further. After the Earth-Romulan War, it became appearent that agressively armed cruiers had to be built. This ship was the second class to be built, it was as up to date as possible. Call it a deterance cruiser. Nobody was to take it as a push over. It had a new weapon, that was fully perfected – the photon torpedeo, this weapon, used a standing wave effect to move antimatter into contact with other ships. This weapon, was designed to be as dangerous as possible, replacing the older fusion warheads. Yes, a few of the older fusion warheads were carried. But this ship, wasn’t designed for them per se. This ship, was designed to give any conceiveible threat force, a run for its money. They didn’t count on the Klingons. The Klingons consdered it a challenge. A direct challenge… In other words, it wasn’t much of a deterance, at least with them. Just th opposite. Catnip, to be exact. It was perfected, as far as Federation science could make it. What the Klinongs didn’t count on, were the ship’s shields. Klingons use that power for attack, not defense. But the photon torpedeo, was the counter weight, to anything the Klingons had in terms of weapons.

    I said eariler, that the photon torpedeo was a standing wave effect. It is generated via built in ship generated phase array force fields that are used to move the matter-antimatter warhead into place. (See TMOST, page 194) This was a weapong the Klongons couldn’t immediately defeat. And it saved the Federation.

    Klingons use swarming tactics however.

    • patrickivan Says:

      While I firmly believe that the Federation is not completely passive with their Starship designs, and that all offence and defence technology is constantly updated, refined, and redesigned to meet contempory and possible future needs, this ship in particular falls within the Starfleet’s number one mandate to Explore. Therefore her primary systems are designed to meet those needs, while at the same time taking into consideration the agressive nature of other forces in the galaxy.

      That said, (and I don’t want to go off into another universe), I’m unhappy with the new Star Trek’s design of the super sized Enterprise and the premis that their ships got super large and agressive in response to the alien incursion that resulted in the destruction of the super sized Kelvin… I like the idea of tempered and reasonable responses that the Federation stands for… At least in my mind.

      • John Ritter Says:

        I go with adage “Speak Softly and Carry a Big Stick”.

        I perhaps wasn’t clear enough on this. You basic ideas are correct. but what I am saying is that this ship was all that was needed for the primary role. Until the Klingons were met.

        The Klingons were indeed the Mongolian Hoards of space.

        Any one of these ships could hanle a bunch of Klingon ships. But then more would show up, and still more, and so on.

        Till the ship was exhausted.

        The Klingons were the more primitive, but were more willing to take losses.

        So I see many more of these ships being built for a multitude of reasons, then the Federation find due to the Klingons, it needs even more…

        Until trench warfare sets in.

        Then an arms race starts…

  9. John Ritter Says:

    But why the difference in size between this Class, and the next(Constitution). Why is the Constitution so much larger?

    The answer is simple.

    This design, was idealised based upon expected threat, plus a fudge factor. That is, no threat could be reasonably be expected to cause a greater need, than this could respond to.

    They were wrong.

    The number of ships required just to give some protection against the Klingons, was such that, well basically the whole fleet had to be there. This was slow to be realized. Even by Vulcans. This is why the Constitution Class is so much large in physical size, but fewer in numbers.

    • patrickivan Says:

      I disagree in part. I think that the power desired to meet potential threats was valid in upsizing the next Exploration Class design. But I believe that this upsizing is also in direct response to an explosion in technology, and Starfleet’s desire to make use of that technology for use in long range exploration ships.

      That said, their roles obviously changed to have to take a more militaristic role, such as patrolling the Neutral Zone, Escorts, Diplomatic missions… And the reason these few ships (though probably not all of them), were reassigned from dedicated exploration missions, was because the Constitution Classes (formerly Star Ship Classes) were by design very effecient and powerful ships. But like I said, I don’t believe that was their true design intent. They were made to Explore and expand the Federation’s peaceful endeavours. Roles just change sometimes…

  10. John Ritter Says:

    Extremely great up date.

  11. John Ritter Says:

    One thing I really like about your take on the insides of the nacelles, is that you are following my thoughts on the Enterprise-nil nacelles…

    It is my thought that, the engine room we see in TOS, is up in the nacelle. In particular the starboard nacelle. Why? Because of tradition. Yes, there would of course be an identical, but mirror imaged version, in the port nacelle.

    There is also another reason why to my line of thought – we have seen the ceiling of the engine room.

    Also remember that the TOS nacelles were supposed to be 60 feet in diameter. So the curve would be that much greater…

    • patrickivan Says:

      I kind of disagree… The main reason why in theory it seems like a good place (in TOS’s Enterprise) is that those are the engines, and it’s logical for the engine room to be there. The primary reason why I don’t think that they would be a 24/7 manned primary engine control room is because of accessibility. The route to the nacelle is not very convenient, plus it was postulated that those engines are hostile environments, not suited for generally being manned.

      So that’s why I explained that while the engines are in my ship, they are pretty much self sufficient and only manned during repairs or general maintainence.

      I really do think it would have made sense for the TOS engine room(s) to be up there if it wasn’t for the poor access… Man, that’s a long way up too :). But I certainly agree that those are HUGE spaced that could easily accomodate an Engine con room!

      Are your thoughts for access in any way differing from my point, or do you suggest a sollution to that issue? Not so much on mine, because it’s resolved. I mean on the Big E…

      • John Ritter Says:

        I was thinking turbolift to get up there. There is no other way to get up there fast. Further more we don’t know how constatn they would be manned. Especially with the episode “Conscience of the King”… Only one person was there.

        On your ship however, this obviously wouldn’t work. Too small. One of the reasons why I like your ship, is its smaller size.

        I have also been thinking about the birdge. I think it might be too large for the ship. The -nil could get away with a large bridge, but a smaller ship can’t.

        Look at the warships of today – the bridges are small, for there is little room for anything large. In other words, the bridge should be scaled for the ship.

        I have also been thinking about sensors in regards to what they would be. Active, a must – but rotating radar dishes? I am not too sure.

        What I mean is that you might squeeze three(more?) deckes in the center part of the primary hull. Top deck would be tight – with sensors, and weapons, but what about the lower?

        In other words you have quite a bit of work to as yet.

  12. John Ritter Says:

    I was beginning to wonder when you would get back to this.

    I have to agree that many small hull plates on a small ship is stupid. They most likely would be two by three meters, maybe four by five…

    but you are getting.

    any thoughs on the computer core size?

    • patrickivan Says:

      My computer is slow sometimes and it just completely discourages me.

      As for the computer- I haven’t even given it any thoughts. I’m open to suggestions though. Now that I think about it, I think it will be more decentralized, working backwards from TNG’s style of a massive computer core. A room full of super computers, (though with today’s micro technology would be impressive in itself- let alone 150 years from now!- mind boggling), would be the brains that links up all the “minor” computer terminals through out the ship, that would be linked to all the interface terminals. As far as real life terms for the processing abilities and memory of these devices, again, the way our computer technology is exploding, I would take the best guess of the brightest computer geek in the world, and then double his/her prediction. Know any super computer geeks?

      I still have quite a list of things. Complete the bridge displays; Shuttle bay; impulse decks; Main Engineering Control; Sink the engines into the nacelles; design a shuttle (a cross between ST:E and TOS, sans stupid folding wings); one officer’s and one general crew member’s quarters; maybe a medical facility; the bridge dome sensor array (that I’m thinking will be like dimpled hemisphere were each concaved dimple is like a little radar dish); and whatever else pops into my head…

      • John Ritter Says:

        A decentralized approach for for the computer is the right way to go. As for the Enterprise-D’s computer cores, I have decided that those are the places where the data is stored. More or less. The real work gets done in the 380 subprocessors scattered aroung the Enterprise-D. Think about it? Just how difficult is to produce a photorealistic holo deck? Memory is what one needs. Thinking about that, it occurs to me that any given holodeck character, wouldn’t have to be much more complex than one of our real would NPCs… What would be different is the mapping. That is, you come up with a NPC, and then map onto the holograph what changes are required.
        Mapping is a big thing these days with A. I. For instance, acouple of years ago I saw an article on this, but it applied the idea of mapping a synthetic human being into the robot. That is, you have the physical robot, and some software that is a human personality. You first come up with both of them. Then map the one onto the other. So the the sensors of the robot are mapped into the synthetic… Just do the same with holographs. The same could be done for the ship’s computers. And should be.

        Now as to the folding wing shuttle, it folds its wing for the same reason that aircraft on aircraft carrrier do, to save room.

  13. John Ritter Says:

    Okay, it is for certain. The bridge is too low. Move it up a deck, mind you one only.

    The bridge should be combined with teh sensor platform. The two should be one. The reason for moving it up one deck, is that as you say the sensors take up, a great deal of room, but not that much.

    Think in terms of the SPY-1D radars…

    Weapons should be single mounts, not twin – as you say this is an exploration ship, not a combat ship, but it is intended to give a good account of itself. The Directed Energy Weapons should be under that secondary outer dome. They should be quite good against moost know threats of the time. Even against Klingons, they should be affective, but not as affective, as they should be. Missile weapons- pre photon torpedos, even better than the Directed Energy weapons. Shields are where it excells however. If not caught be surprise, then it should win against any single klingon ship. But this isn’t its primary purpose. But on First contact, it does become the main purpose.

    Sensors are phased array, or partial phased array types. Lets say a non fixed mount, that can roatae, like an old style radar dish, but it matches the curve of the primary dome. But unlike our phased array systems, they work at any needed ultra wide band frequency range. This includes x-rays. The reason for this design, is that when traveling at warp, the sensor is fixed forward.

    Both of them – don’t forget the one on the bottom of the saucer, as well. they can rotate as needed, to help with sensening what might be ahead in the turn. That is, when the there is a change of direction of the ship, they look in that direction.

    As for the primary long range sensor at the bow of the secondary hull, if is very focused, and doesn’t move that much.

    Tertiary sensors detect threats – not just other ships, but navigational threats as well, these are ‘last ditch’.

    • patrickivan Says:

      The ship is size is based on the original concept drawings, and that makes the bulb on top too small for the bridge. Now my bridge size is based loosely on the concept bridge mentioned in the thread. It’s size seems quite large, but I was contrained by my original attempt to place it in the bulb. And I could, but it there would be no room for a lift or stairs without sacrificing too much space. I also tried counter sinking it just a little, but then realized quite quickly that the space under the bridge would be wasted anyways, so down to the main deck it went.

      As for the sensors, you’ve given me something to consider. The lower planetary sensor is large and fixed, but there is no reason why a more mobile version wouldn’t be more effective- especially when needing to focus on something planetary, without the need to change the orientation of the ship itself.

      When you mention the single mounted phasers, are you suggesting something along the lines of the NX Enterprise? Because I was thinking of that similar kind of drop out phaser. It’s hidden in the hull for safety and easy maintenence, and drops down as needed. And I was thinking of a total of 3. under the saucer, port and starbord quarter, just forward of the planetary sensor, on one aft on the engineering section.

      I was also planning on one forward photon torpedo launcher. Space is at a premium on the ship and photorp tech takes a little bit of space up. And I’m going with photon torpedoes because I believe they were supposed to have been invented already- though I’ll have to dig up my Trek Tech manual to confirm.

      Good feed back- Thanks!

  14. John Ritter Says:

    Don’t think of stairs, but of a ladder up to the bridge. It doesn’t have to be big(36 inches, maybe one meter). And I am going by your drawing of the bridge a few pictures up. What I am assuming is that there is minimal traffic going up and down.

    As for the Directed energy weapons, yes pop outs will do the job. But I was thinking more along lines of maybe nine of them. In terms of real world equiviants, think three inchers – versus the five(??) or maybe eight(?) inchers of the Constitution class.

    Just took another look at your bridge. Yes, it can fit up there, but not beyond one deck up. Think of it this way, the whole sensor modual incorporates the bridge as well.

    The only real difference between the two, is total power – power density is the same, but this ship since it is smaller, doesn’t have the same volume of power.

    Now if you want to keep the Directed Energy Weapons numbers down, then go with four, like on the Kelvin. No secondaries thought.

    As to photon torpedos, the Tech Manual says 2215. But don’t expect the early ones to look like the Mk VI photon Torpedo, they may be smaller. What I expect, is that most of the space set aside for such things is taken up by unmanned probes.

  15. John Ritter Says:

    Still another look. One deck is 3.004 meters. Deck two is where it should be put. Not deck one. Deck one is the sensor assembly. Deck three where you have it takes too much room for that area. So what does deck four have?

  16. John Ritter Says:

    I have been thinking about this ship on and off, for several weeks.

    The first thing that comes to mind, is that your version, size wise makes sense. I will assume that this is the optimum size, for a cruiser, in a not very hostile universe. The ship is stripped dow to the idea, that is, there are large ships out there(commercial), but the need for high levels of agression, just isn’t. The weapons that she carries, are rarely ever used in a hostile manner, there is little need. However, they are used to aid in exploration duties, but this too is rare, though more common than in an agressive role.

    It was contact with the Klingons that changed their minds. This class of ship didn’t have the edge required to stand up to the Klingons. That is, what it did have, wasn’t enough, by far.

    Now looking at this ship, from a buyer’s point of view.

    The one thing wrong with it, is that bridge location. It is one deck too low., and a bit too large for the ship. That is the only fault so far.

    • patrickivan Says:

      All valid comments. The only thing I have to disagree with is the bridge. Based on the original concept drawings and the size I extrapolated from them. And based on the size of the bridge I made, it just won’t fit in the bulb… I admit that it would be nice to have it up there- but it would have to be smaller, and I am not certain that I want a smaller one.

      That said, I am open to bridge alternatives for the sake of exchanging ideas.

  17. John Ritter Says:

    Well here is my thinking behind the thought a smaller bridge. How many people do you really need to keep watch? By my count, under most conditions, three. Some one to monitor the autopilot, and what the ship is doing. Someone to monitor the sensors, to respond to alarm conditions.

    These would include never before seen events, rarely seen events, and threats, this is from a science perspective. They could also deal with unnatural threats – pirates, and other hostiles(not necessarily Klingons) With any decent computer system, the ship would be highly automated.

    The third person has two jobs, keep the first two awake(glass cockpit syndrom), and handle the calling of any others either to the bridge, or to other stations. Various alert conditions. Now just how many bridge stations should there be? At least four, in addition to the Helm/Navigation(?) station, plus the C. O.’s station. But these other stations would rarely be manned, because of that third person’s presence.

    So what is the rest of the crew doing? Well you said it, one third asleep, one third relaxing, and the remaining on duty – with computers, it doesn’t really matter where. But, I would say directly underneath the Bridge, doing the ship’s mission. Why? Because the bridge just needs to know what is going on, in general, not(most of the time) specific detail, unless it directly affects the ship/mission. But this would be a small percentage of the on duty crew. The rest are going through the ship, making sure everything is ship shape.

    As usual my thoughts and prayers are with your wife, and your self.

  18. I just ran across this as a Star Trek fan, and a dad who is checking out Google Sketchup for his kid. He loves Star Trek and already makes 3D models in simpler programs. Your work will be very inspiring to him.

    This is a great fun idea you have going here. Would love to see more. šŸ™‚

    • patrickivan Says:

      Thanks for the kind words. If you haven’t already done so, I recommend that you check out the Fan Art forum of TrekBBS. There are a fair number of cgi artists with works far superiour to my own. Including some fellow googleSU users.

      Also try the Drex Files, run by sci-fi guru Doug Drexler.

Leave a Reply

