Algonquin Park. The Highland Backpacking Trail, 2010.

I missed last year’s camping trips. Yes. Trips. I just couldn’t afford to go. So I’ve lived vicariously through the trips my friends took. They have both graciously allowed me to post their trip to Algonquin Parks’ Highland Backpacking trail. Thanks to Thomas Calnan (up and coming comedian in Toronto!) and Ann Cassidy (up and coming ruler of Toronto).

6 Responses to “Algonquin Park. The Highland Backpacking Trail, 2010.”

  1. shelley Says:

    which lake and which site is pic #apz taken from

    • patrickivan Says:

      Heh- I was racking my brain trying to remember where this was but couldn’t. Then I remembered that I wasn’t on this trip! I think it was on Faya Lake on the Highlands trail (south of 60)…

  2. mike Says:

    Hey beautiful pictures guys. Whoever took em really has a good eye, . I’m going packing in acouple weeks on the trail. Looks great!

  3. steve Says:

    Hi there
    I was just wondering if there is a website you know that has a lot of information about the highland trail? Such as.

    Find out if section doesn’t have water.
    If they’re certain signs to look for since there are two loops on the trail.
    How well is the trail marked/ tricky section.
    Where are good campsites?
    If you have to make reservation for campsite to stay at on the trail.
    Where to get a map of the trail.

    If you could let me know about this information id appreciate it.

    thank you.

    • patrickivan Says:

      Hi

      Unfortunately there aren’t any websites dedicated to trail information like that. However blogs like this, and APP’s facebook page are good places to query people for that information.

      There is another decent camping site now that I think about it, but I just cant seem to recall the name. Someting like Canadian Camping or something. It’s a forum dedicated to backpacking, camping, hiking, and canoeing. I will post a link if I find it.

      I think one reason you may find it difficult to find info on specific camp sites is because it is hard to give the world the scoop on a great site. It becomes hard to get! I dont mind so much though.

Leave a Reply

