LED Streetlight: Night Is Gone. I Feel So Safe. 

We’re finally getting rid of night time in small town Alliston. It’s to save money of course, and should the argument ever show that LEDs are horrible for us and the environment, the argument will turn into one of safety. 

And I for one am glad! I took out my small print receipt, stood exactly between two light standards, and read that small print clear as mid day. 

I know now that with night on it’s way out, we can all move safely into a 24 hour work day, keeping our economy chugging along by buying, selling, paying taxes. 

I’m okay with the new blinds I have to buy. And the new sunglasses I have to wear at night should I accidentally look into that white bright highly focused, retinal burning LED. 

We’re saving money! We’re safer! Natural sleep rhythms are so 20th century and past! Get with the times. We can sleep at the end of our natural lives. 

No flash. No enhancement. Just a photo of a small print receipt that I can safely, and cheaply, read at 2AM.

Ps. I’m really looking forward to winter glare. ​

Leave a Reply

